Skip to content

Life’s a Journal!

April 24, 2011

Having been a recent bride myself last June, I was soon fully immersed in all things wedding related and found wedding planning an endless (though very exciting) task. It completely took over my life (as my poor husband will attest!).

Lists were written, then re-written and then lists were made of lists….it was never ending! Lists became my best friends and I soon realised, writing everything down was a GOOD idea!

However, this doesn’t just extend to the wedding planning. Amidst the budget plans, supplier details, dress appointments and menu tastings, it occurred to me that I was missing out on an opportunity. This fabulously exciting time would only happen once and, though I would be able to call upon the feelings I had and the photos which were taken, I would dearly love to have a written record of that period of my life.

The answer for me, was journalling. I took to writing a little here and there of the big events in a bride’s calendar – the first time I tried on MY dress, the venue search, the hair trials, the hen/stag do….it soon filled up pages!

I naturally progressed to the wedding and, as we were marrying in Italy, I was able to document the whole week before the wedding and all the nervous excitement as our guests arrived and shared in a magical 3 days at the Castle where we stayed and had our reception. At the end of the day, I would fill my journal with the wonder and joy I’d felt during those 24 hours. The only day I skipped was my Wedding Day, though I’m sure I’d be forgiven for that!

I was soon whisked away on my honeymoon to the Maldives where we lounged on white sands amidst turquoise seas, basking in the sunshine and enjoying the novelty of calling each other ‘Husband’ and ‘Wife’! My journalling continued during the days where I would catch up on the days events or pen a few sentimental feelings.

Having jetted home and returned back to reality, I decided to type everything up in a report of my wedding. So I went back to the beginning, of the day we first met and continued from there to the day I left the Maldives. It was EPIC! I can’t say that part will be for everyone, but if you can, definitely have a go as it’s a wonderful keepsake of that special time which you can savour over and over again. I’ve often found my new husband reading the report and reminiscing over our time together and the best day of our lives. I can’t put into words how it feels to look over and see him reading with a contented smile on his face. It fills me with joy!

So my top tip this week is to write it all down! However, if it simply doesn’t appeal to record everything yourself (and as a bride-to-be, it really is difficult to find the time!), you may want to consider calling upon the services of the delightful Wedding Reporter who will provide you with a full report, having attended your fabulous day and consulted with you and your Groom. She will also submit your personalised report to wedding magazines and blogs if you so wish.

I plan on having mine printed into a proper book style for us to dip into for years to come. Whilst photographs are a must and a great memento of the day, I find words so evocative and instantly take me back to the emotion of the day.

I look forward to hearing about your Wedding Reports and hope this encourages you to put pen to paper or fingers to keyboard for your very own journal, or phone to ear to call upon The Wedding Reporter! Have fun 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2011 9:14 am

    Thanks so much for this lovely post!

  2. April 24, 2011 12:08 pm

    What a beautiful idea, we’re so similar! I have lists for EVERYTHING! And love writing things up, my Orlando holiday journal being the lastest piece 🙂 such a lovely thing to look back on for years xx

Leave a Reply

