Skip to content

On The Search For Vintage Treasures

June 8, 2011

This week’s post is about my love of all things vintage and my eternal seek to find treasure from some fabulous bygone age.

Over four days, I went to a local vintage fair set up by the lovely Keeley from Discover Vintage where I met fellow tweeters and purveyors of absolutely gorgeous vintage finds, Rutland Vintage .

As soon as I walked in, a gorgeous little fold up camera caught my eye – I already have a couple of vintage cameras and I knew this would fit perfectly with the others….

First purchase of the day!

I just love this little camera – it must have been such an amazing gadget in it’s hay-day!

Walking around the wealth of goodies, I soon spotted a leather suitcase – I had been after one of these for a while but something was always wrong, be it the price, colour or condition. This was perfect! I have a ladies attache case in white which was used for my wedding and it sits perfectly in this. I absolutely adore it and cannot believe I was able to snap it up for £25!

Leather straps hold the case open from the inside…simply divine!

Complete with key and perfect lining, I’m very excited about this case…..it will feature heavily over at Elle Is For Love, so keep an eye out for it’s debut appearance!

Monday saw my next quest for treasure, when I headed over to Northampton to My Happy Vintage Home . The lovely Carol and her daughter Chelsea run this little haven, selling vintage homewares and clothing from their home. They are both so welcoming and friendly and their home is styled so beautifully, you are immediately put at ease and made to feel ‘one of the girls’. Cups of tea and cupcakes were consumed and lots of chat about our love of furniture and decor were had by all – a very fun day indeed!

It was almost a mini Tweet Up as a few of us had arranged to meet there –  I was lucky enough to meet the gorgeous Hayley from Vintage Scoops (aka Mrs Scoops), the very sweet Lauren from Lady Amy Wedding Design (with her beautiful baby boy Noah) and the amazingly talented Alison from Daisy Cupcakes who I am lucky enough to call my very good friend. Though Hayley was without the lovely Betty (her Bedford ice cream van) on the day, my little bug was much admired in the meantime!

New friends were made of the Felt Fairy who has a great blog with some fabulous tutorials – if I get a spare minute over the summer, I will definitely be trying out her covered buttons, and also Emma from Feelin’ Felty whose felt baby booties are adorable! I was also fortunate enough to meet Lindsay from Elsie Sparrow – a gorgeous gal who makes the cutest Betty purses! Such a talented bunch!

So, on to my purchases! These are my fab finds from My Happy Vintage Home:

This delightful Green Tea Set came home with me…..how could I resist it?!

My next purchase from the treasure trove of goodies at My Happy Vintage Home was this wooden birdcage:

My final purchase from My Happy Vintage Home was this blue cane basket which will be housing my lace and embellishments:

The next day, I popped into my local town to a charity shop which only sells vintage items and found this amazing mirror with louvre doors for just £14:

I have something hugely exciting planned for this mirror!

Hope you’ve enjoyed seeing the items I bought – I really enjoy giving new life and love to old pieces and you will see a lot of them being used to style my stationery products. I’d love to hear about the vintage treasures you’ve stumbled upon recently 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 10:37 pm

    Fabulous Elle – I love looking at all your photos and seeing all your ‘finds’! We had a lovely lovely day didn’t we. Here’s to the next time!

  2. June 8, 2011 11:02 pm

    Looking at your photos. You found some awesome vintage.

  3. June 9, 2011 9:02 am

    Boo why didn’t i know about this fair?!
    SO much gorgeousness!! The tea set is lovely! xx

  4. June 10, 2011 8:27 pm

    It was so lovely to meet you! My daughter and I had a stall at the leamington Discover Vintage fair, wasn’t it a fab day!!!

    The tea set is beautiful! Oh and the suitcase – well I have a bit of a passion for them! If you ever visit my home you will be drowning in them! lol!

    • June 10, 2011 8:38 pm

      Thanks lovely, it was a pleasure meeting you too – so glad someone else gets my passion for suitcases! I would happily store EVERYTHING in vintage cases! x

Leave a Reply

