Skip to content

The Love My Dress Soiree! The Unveiling of ‘The Outfit’!

August 4, 2011

A 3 hour trip north to Newcastle culminated in an amazing night at the Baltic Centre amidst a buzz of excitement from wedding suppliers and brides to be.

Overlooking the Tyne, we arrived at the Baltic to be greeted by lovely ladies serving Prosecco and handed a goody bag filled with treats including Macaroons, cake pops, iced biscuits (in the shape of a wedding dress) and the best gift of all, a limited edition bookmark from the very talented Vicky Trainor.

We were also given a hanging tag with our names/job title and Twitter I.D which I wrapped around my wrist. So….to the dress!

For around 2 years, since I first saw it, I have longed for a dress called ‘Babycakes’. Searching for a wedding dress for someone, I came upon a boutique based in Worthing called ‘Courtesan Boutique‘ who sell absolutely beautiful dresses. I passed on the details to the bride who was thrilled with the find and carried on clicking through the evening wear and prom wear. Amongst it, I found Babycakes and instantly fell in love. I knew I had to have that dress one day.

Beautiful Babycakes (front and back):

During the last couple of years I have recommended Courtesan Boutique to many brides for their wedding dresses and bridesmaid’s dresses, as well as any one wanting to find something unique and utterly gorgeous for an evening do. I’ve always been an advocate for their company and continued to do so at the end of April this year, when Laura (aka Bonfirenightbride) put out a cry for help to find a frock which she could wear to all the weddings she had to attend this Summer. I immediately pointed her in the direction of Courtesan Boutique and my love for the beautiful Babycakes and, just as I had, she was smitten. So much so, she mentioned it (and me!) on her blog: http://bonfirenightbride.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/great-wedding-guest-dresses/

Since then, I’ve noticed Babycakes appear on a few Twitter wedding based blogs over the last month or two and I’m really pleased to have helped make people aware of the company and of this gorgeous dress. With that in mind, and having longed for this dress for so long, it was inevitable I would choose this dress for my Love My Dress Soiree attire. Nothing else would do!

With just 3 weeks to go until the event, I contacted Amy and Katie at Courtesan Boutique and asked if it was possible to make a Babycakes for me – I was over the moon to hear that, not only could they make it, they could rush it through for me at no extra cost and add extra fullness to the skirt. They were lovely to deal with, so professional and friendly, offering a top quality service. I can’t recommend them enough!

I decided on a different colour combination to the advertised dress (it is available in 60 colours!), choosing a delicate peach for the main body of the dress and a darker peach for the cowl neck and chiffon which drapes down the back. I also opted for the ‘closer fit’ option which allows to order different sizes for your bust,waist and hips. This is a really good option if, like me, you’re not one size in all places. Best of all, this service is free!

It was a nervous 3 weeks awaiting my beautiful gown, but I soon received a lovely phonecall from Amy and Katie to say my gorgeous frock was on it’s way and to my utter delight, the dress arrived the next day! Unwrapping it from it’s zebra print tissue paper, I was thrilled with the quality – I knew it was going to be beautiful but I had no idea it would be even better in real life!

So, my dress was sorted. I had also bought a pair of off white evening gloves from my visit to Goldfinches last month, they had a slight ruche to the wrists which matched the ruching of my dress. To match my gloves, I decided on ivory satin shoes with a delicate bow from Next:

With the neutral gloves and shoes, I decided to inject some of the gorgeous peach colour with my clutch bag. Bought in the New Look sale for £5!

My nails were painted in a pretty coral colour to match the dark peach cowl and I found a perfect matching lipstick from Max Factor.

Last, but by no means least, my jewellery! What can I say about this…..I arranged with a fabulous designer to loan my jewellery for the evening and was thrilled to have the pick of her vintage collection. She is an amazingly talented designer, creating vintage and vintage inspired jewellery for bridal and occasionwear. Please, please, please take a look at Melissa Morgan Designs to view her creations and support her on her facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Melissa-Morgan-Designs/129059777156606

I was absolutely delighted to be showcasing her talents and chose the ‘vintage button bracelet’ to wear over my evening gloves, matching ‘diamante and vintage inspired button earrings’ with two drops and  the  ‘vintage inspired diamante flower headdress’. I had the pleasure of meeting Melissa last week and she is just as lovely as you imagine her to be – such a warm and friendly lady. You will not be disappointed with her work, I put it on and instantly felt like a princess!!

Bracelet:

Earrings:

Headress:

So, to the big reveal! Here I am, glammed up in all my attire:

I was at Nancy’s Bordello having just finished a photoshoot for Abbie from The Vintage Hen House – it was a great venue and lovely to meet a few of the girls before going on to the Soiree. The photographer, James Melia is brilliant, I love his work. If you’re in the market for wedding (or other) photography, be sure to take a look at his portfolio. I’m looking forward to seeing his pictures from the shoot.

I will post again about all the fun and frolics that entailed the night of the Soiree and who I was lucky enough to meet. Suffice to say, it was IMMENSE!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2011 3:35 pm

    Oh my goodness you look just like a princess! I love it! Thank you for the lovely mention too, very touched right now 😀 xxxxx

    • August 4, 2011 3:39 pm

      You’re so welcome Melissa – your jewellery sparkled all evening and looked so pretty. I couldn’t stop touching the bracelet, it’s divine!!

  2. August 4, 2011 3:36 pm

    Such a lovely dress, and it suited you perfectly! You looked fabulous.

    • August 4, 2011 3:40 pm

      Wow, thank you! I was actually in awe of your designs, especially the gorgeous frock you loaned to Leah. I didn’t manage to pop by and say hi but saw you from afar 🙂

  3. vintageandlace permalink
    August 4, 2011 3:47 pm

    You look gorgeous! x

  4. August 4, 2011 5:43 pm

    Thank you for mentioning me my lovely. You looked just BEAUTIFUL!! It really is such a beautiful dress! I unfortunately had to cancel my order but I WILL have that dress in dusky pink one day 🙂

  5. August 18, 2011 9:23 pm

    WOW!

    I remember you in that dress my lovely, you stood out a mile, so classy, such a beautiful frock 😉

    This post is lovely and I can’t wait to see your follow up version of your memory of the night 😉 I had such a blast, it was just brilliant! Thank you so much for coming 😉

    Much love,

    Annabel xXx

    ps – 2012 diaries at the ready, hope to be advising people to ‘save the date’ soon for next year! 😉

  6. August 19, 2011 12:31 am

    Oh Annabel, thank you so much for taking the time to read my little blog! 🙂

    We all had such an amazing time and you were so wonderful to each and every one of us.

    I shall keep my fingers crossed for a Save the Date in my inbox 😉 Who would want to miss out on another glorious night like that?! xxx

Trackbacks

  1. The Love My Dress Summer Soiree Official Photographs ~ Part 3, Night Falls and Party Time… | LMD Test
  2. The Love My Dress Summer Soiree Official Photographs ~ Part 2, Setting up to Sun-Down… | LMD Test
  3. The Love My Dress Summer Soiree Official Photographs ~ Part 1, Behind The Scenes… | LMD Test
  4. The Love My Dress Summer Soiree ~ The Dream Team Who Made It Happen… | Love My Dress® UK Wedding Blog
  5. The Love My Dress Summer Soiree ~ A Preview… | Love My Dress® UK Wedding Blog
  6. The Love My Dress Summer Soiree ~ The Teaser Video… | Love My Dress® UK Wedding Blog
  7. The Love My Dress Summer Soiree Official Photographs ~ Part 1, Behind The Scenes… | Love My Dress® UK Wedding Blog
  8. A Summer Soiree on Film… | Love My Dress® UK Wedding Blog
  9. The Love My Dress Summer Soiree Official Photographs ~ Part 3, Night Falls and Party Time… | Love My Dress® UK Wedding Blog
  10. The Love My Dress Summer Soiree Official Photographs ~ Part 2, Setting up to Sun-Down… | Love My Dress® UK Wedding Blog

Leave a Reply

